Prolog to the Camino de Santiago

I can tell you that having walked the Camino de Santiago has changed my life… Mostly in the sense that I met people that have become and will be life-long friends despite the fact that we live in different countries all over the globe. We shared an experience together and developed a comraderie that we will continue to carry…

The map shows all of the WAYS of the Camino. I walked both the Frances and Finisterra Ways!

As a prolog and organizational tool, I have created the following table of information to assist anyone planning on walking the Camino de Santiago during March or April… I hope it gives you an idea of how to prepare and what you may expect along your WAY. Your experience will be yours… likely different than mine, but we will have shared with each other…

Day

When to Start the Camino

Contents of my backback

Waiting for Weather:

            Waiting to Start the Camino

            Update Saturday March 12

Soul Moments

Day

Start

End

Link

March 20

St Jean Pied de Port

Roncesvalles

***

March 21

Roncesvalles

Zubiri

***

March 22

Zubiri

Pamplona

***

March 23

Pamplona

Puente la Reina

***

March 24

Puente la Reina

Estella

***

March 25

Estella

Los Arcos

***

March 26

Los Arcos

Logrono

***

March 27

Logrono

Najera

***

March 28

Najera

Santo Domingo de la Calzada

***

March 29

Santo Domingo de la Calzada

Belorado

***

March 30

Belorado

Arapuerca

***

March 31

Arapuerca

Burgos

***

April 1

Burgos

Hontanas

***

April 2

Hontanas

Fromista

***

April 3

Fromista

Carrion de los Condes

***

April 4

Carrion de los Condes

Terradillos de Templarios

***

April 5

Terradillos de Templarios

El Burgo Ranero

***

April 6

El Burgo Ranero

Arcahueja

***

April 7

Arcahueja

Leon

***

April 8

Leon

Mazarife

***

April 9

Mazarife

Astorga

***

April 10

Astorga

Foncebadon

***

April 11

Foncebadon

Molinaseca

***

April 12

Molinaseca

Villafranca

***

April 13

Villafranca

La Faba

***

April 14

La Faba

Triacastela

***

April 15

Triacastela

Sarria

***

April 16

Sarria

Gonzar

***

April 17

Gonzar

Melide

***

April 18

Melide

Santa Irene

***

April 19

Santa Irene

Santiago de Compostella

***

April 20

Santiago de Compostella

Negreira

***

April 21

Negreira

Olveiroa

***

April 22

Olveiroa

Cee

***

April 23

Cee

Finisterra

***

April 24

Finisterra

Muxia

***

ALL

Friends

 

If you can learn, in several languages

the phrase: “What is your name?

 My favorite and one I used on occasion:

JE T’Aime…

Despite the fact that I left to walk the Camino de Santiago with the idea that I would consider taking days for a break, I did not take any breaks and continued walking each day.  After I finished walking the Camino de Santiago, I went to the Spainish town Ourense to take advantage of the public thermal hot springs.  It was well worth the trip.  I spent several days in Ourense, two at the Auberge at the top of the hill above the town with my friend Charles, the operator of the facility.

Once I left Ourense, I took the train to Vigo… and returned to Portugal … one of the love’s of my life…

Categories: Camino de Santiago 2011 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

