Walk from Santa Irene to Santiago

April 19th, 2011 – 23.7 KM… relatively flat… rained for the first few hours…

Some people just camp out!

At long last, Santiago de Compostela – 800 KM… though not the end of my journey, it is a major milestone! I walked the first 3 or so KM alone… In Pedrouzo Do Pino (Arca), I met Antonio… Antonio and Lina had stayed the night before in Pedrouzo… and Lina was lagging, being a bit smitten with Rodri, I understand… I walked with Antonio until Monte de Gozo, which supposedly overlooks Santiago… Antonio would wait for Lina there, and I walked the last 5 or so KM into Santiago alone…

Antoino & I...

Monument at Monte do Gozo

It seemed fitting to enter the santuary of Santiago alone, to contemplate and reflect on the 31 days that I had been walking the Camino… change is certain in life… the camino has opened possibilities and has created many questions for me…

The Cathedral in Santiago de Compostella

I had been walking about trying to find the oficina do perigrinos – a chance running into Ron set me in the right direction!

Ron, the Canadian, and I

Paul and I started this camino on the same day! Over the past 31 days, we’ve become quite good friends! Kristoff was a great addition to our celebration! Later in the evening, we had a group dinner with many of our friends: brother/sister Kristoff & Carol, Dominic, Simone, Danielle, Maryanne, Kristoff, Paul, Phillip, and I…

Kristoff, Paul (Pocoloco), and I - celebrating pre-dinner!

Categories: Camino de Santiago 2011, Walking the Camino de Santiago | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Walk from Santa Irene to Santiago

  1. Congrats David. What a wonderful month. keep enjoying.

  2. Chax

    You were there when we celebrated our arrival in Santiago de Compostela! and there is where we decided that you should walk the Camino!! WELL DONE David! You made it as well !!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

